Starting a research project

Go down

Starting a research project Empty Starting a research project

Post by jmanshaman Mon 5 Dec 2016 - 16:40

Hey guys, so I'm wanting to start a research project and need some feedback and maybe some help in the modding. First off, I'm wanting to create some mods to the game to test the effects gender roles have on players. So I'm working on some sprite swapping (which is mostly easy), but also wanted to ask a couple other questions. I have a little bit of experience with graphic design and have been playing around in Hyrule Magic for a while (I'm still trying to get through the comprehensive guide). I have very little experience, but I know what I want to do so I'm trying to solve those questions instead of learn how to mod an entire game.

First, is it possible to change where the game starts? I've played a couple other Zelda 3 hacks, and they all still open in a hut. I'd like to have it open with the player locked in the dungeon. I'm just curious if this is impossible to change in Hyrule Magic. If not, that's fine, I'll probably just look into building what I want in Solarus or something similar.

Second, is it possible to change the end of the game? I'm wondering if I could move it up to right after the player saves Zelda and brings her to the sanctuary. Like I mentioned above, this is for a research project and I don't really need my participants playing through the entire game, just the beginning portion.

And lastly, how do you edit Zelda's sprite? I want to change who the player saves (it could be a puppy, but at least a different version of Link). I've played the Zelda saves Zelda 2 patch and know its possible, but I can't find guidance on how to do it.

And I'm struggling to get Z-compress to work on my laptop. Whenever I use the CMD prompt to extract the images to a .bin file, it states "'zcompress' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file."

Thanks!

jmanshaman
Newcomer