I just want to say a few things about HM's "music editor"

Go down

I just want to say a few things about HM's "music editor" Empty I just want to say a few things about HM's "music editor"

Post by SunGodPortal Wed 21 Dec 2016 - 18:33

I've been a musician for close to 25 years and I have a better understanding of music theory than the majority of people who make music for a living. I am even well versed in composing music via computer programs. Despite that, I still find Hyrule Magic's music editor to be almost impossible to make any "calculated" use of. I'll give you a perfect example:

I want to alter most of the songs in the game, but what I want to accomplish is nothing drastic. It couldn't be simpler. All I want to do, is change the notes to alter each song's tonality. So if I'm looking at a C Dominant 7th chord, I might want to change it to a diminished or augmented chord to give the songs a creepy or depressing vibe. I'm not adding notes, I'm not changing rhythms. No extra voices, no additional patterns. All I want to do is replace one note with another, but when I open Hyrule Magic's "music editor" I see this:

I just want to say a few things about HM's "music editor" Hmmusi10