Legend of Zelda (NES) HD Audio: Help

Go down

Legend of Zelda (NES) HD Audio: Help Empty Legend of Zelda (NES) HD Audio: Help

Post by gwenolo Tue 18 Aug 2020 - 18:11

Hi, I am requesting some help on this forum, which looks the best place for this  Razz (Conn)  
(I will maybe try romHacking.net too later on...)
I am starting the project to propose a Mesen HD pack for the Legend of Zelda (NES).
I know BS Zelda exists on SNES... but I wanted to try this for fun!
I could soon propose a beta release (1st dungeon almost done, some sprites and overworld tiles also).
I am not good at graphic design so I am in a phase of testing something, taking things from the web and Zelda 3 (SNES).

But...I am missing some info and guidance on the Audio part, which I would like to be managed before sharing the first beta release of the HD pack:
I have read from Mesen docs that some operation should be done to define some albums pointers to produce album definition.
For musics and also SFX. Like $4104: Album Number or $4103: SFX Volume
and then produce an IPS patch to be applied on the rom to then being able to use ogg files to get HD audio replacement.
Could some of you help me in doing this? I would like to know how to do that as I have some other projects on other NES games (Zelda 2, Punchout..)

I found some resources that could I am sure be helpful... but I do not know what to do with this...

- https://www.mesen.ca/docs/hdpacks.html#register-read-operations
 - http://www.romhacking.net/documents/781/  : The Legend of Zelda (NES) Music Hacking Doc By ActionGamer (see attached txt file)
 - http://thealmightyguru.com/Games/Hacking/Wiki/index.php?title=The_Legend_of_Zelda
 - https://datacrystal.romhacking.net/wiki/The_Legend_of_Zelda:Tutorials

Thanks a lot if you can help me. I will credit you of course !!!  Very Happy
(I hope I published this post in the good section?)

Gwenolo