Red Agahnim

Go down

Red Agahnim Empty Red Agahnim

Post by TheGloriousOmni Sat 20 Apr 2024 - 19:22

Hello! So I'm a complete newbie to LttP hacking, only really going as far as learning how to add msu packs to my game... which... isn't really hacking I guess.
I've been slowly kinda putting together my own version of LttP, a personal "definitive Edition" as it were, kinda combining patches that exist for what I would consider a "perfect" version. One that I haven't been able to find though is making Agahnim's color scheme Red rather than Green like his official artwork depicts. I know Redux has this, and although that's a great mod, but they make some changes that I'm personally not a fan of.
I tried to edit the sprite myself but...it's incredibly confusing. I was able to edit the sprite in yy-chr and I saw the changes in my rom, but I think the next step is to edit the palette in a hex editor? I'm not sure, and I can only really find tutorials on how to change Link's sprite so...
If this is ok, would it be possible to get this in a patch?

TheGloriousOmni
Newcomer

Since : 2024-04-16

Back to top Go down

Red Agahnim Empty Re: Red Agahnim

Post by Liny Fri 3 May 2024 - 2:49

If you have the "Hyrule Magic" editor, you can find the palette in "Palettes -> Enemies 1 -> Enemies 1 pal 14".

If you have the "ZScream" editor, you can find the palette in "Graphics Manager (bottom tab) -> Sprites Aux3 -> Aux 14".

If you'd prefer to directly edit the palette through hex editing, the address you're looking for is (assuming no rom header) 0xDD5A4:
FF7F 1841 3616 1D3B A514 521F 0D12

Each of those chunks of 4 bytes represents one of the 7 colors that make up Agahnim's palette. If you'd like an idea of what to change it to, I personally use:
FF7F FD02 7272 387B A514 5D19 990C