Using MSU1 for non-audio non-FMV additions?

Go down

Using MSU1 for non-audio non-FMV additions? Empty Using MSU1 for non-audio non-FMV additions?

Post by clockworkbutterfly Sat 29 Feb 2020 - 22:29

Hey all!

I'm very new to MSU1, only having used the patches here to have enhanced the soundtracks of roms, as seems to be its primary function.

However, I find myself wondering if MSU1 can be used to add more "internal" content to a rom.  Could one hypothetically use it to add new levels/stages, new sprites, and so on to SNES games?  Or is the MSU1 by definition restricted to calling external content like PCM files and FMVs into a preexisting rom (hacked or otherwise)?  If it's restricted to calling external data, is it possible that one could use it to open a second rom in the middle of the first, no different than calling say an FMV?

I mean, I'm sure that would all be tremendously difficult, but I just wasn't sure how feasible MSU1 might make the addition of specifically internal content.

I'm a complete and utter newbie at this—and apologies for the strange question—but I've been googling it for awhile and just don't feel like I can find any information regarding this.  It seems, so far, that MSU1 has only been used to add a better soundtrack or FMVs to roms.

Thanks guys!

— CB

clockworkbutterfly
Cucumber
Cucumber

Since : 2020-02-23

Back to top Go down

Using MSU1 for non-audio non-FMV additions? Empty Re: Using MSU1 for non-audio non-FMV additions?

Post by Conn Sun 1 Mar 2020 - 4:26

Yes, gizaha managed to stream a lot via msu1, if you check his Killer Instinct hack. Many video clips like winning at the end, the sprites are also streamed by msu as far I know and even the bg (orchid stage has an animtaed TV in the background). New levels aren't possible, msu can only add music, graphics.

https://www.zeldix.net/t2002-killer-instinct-msu1-mega-patch
Conn
Conn

Using MSU1 for non-audio non-FMV additions? Image212

Since : 2013-06-30

Back to top Go down